We have a formal collaborative relationship with 16 key parties. These 16 organisations are represented in the Challenge Parties Group which meets with the Challenge Directorate quarterly

Cawthron Institute is New Zealand's largest independent science organisation, offering a broad spectrum of services to help protect the environment and support sustainable development of primary industries.

ESR (the Institute of Environmental Science and Research) specialises in science that helps safeguard people’s health, protect food-based economies, improve the safety of freshwater and groundwater resources, and contributes expert forensic science to justice systems.

The purpose of GNS Science, Te Pū Ao, is to understand natural Earth system processes and resources, and to translate these into economic, environmental and social benefits.

Lincoln Agritech is a multidisciplinary R&D company owned by Lincoln University. It delivers science and engineering knowledge and technologies into environmental, primary, processing and new materials applications.

Manaaki Whenua – Landcare Research’s core purpose is to drive innovation in the management of terrestrial biodiversity and land resources.

The mission of NIWA (National Institute of Freshwater and Atmospheric Research) is to conduct leading environmental science to enable the sustainable management of natural resources for New Zealand and the planet.

Plant & Food Research has the core purpose to enhance the value and productivity of New Zealand’s horticultural, arable, seafood and food and beverage industries to contribute economic growth and the environmental and social prosperity of New Zealand.

Scion’s purpose is to drive innovation and growth from New Zealand’s forestry, wood product and wood-derived materials and other biomaterial sectors, to create economic value and contribute to beneficial environmental and social outcomes for New Zealand.

The University of Auckland’s mission is to be recognised for excellence in teaching, learning, research, creative work and administration, for the significance of its contributions to the advancement of knowledge and its commitment to serve communities.

The University of Canterbury’s mission is to contribute to society through knowledge by promoting a world-class learning environment known for attracting people with the greatest potential to make a difference.

The University of Otago aims to create, advance, preserve, promote and apply knowledge, critical thinking and intellectual independence to enhance the understanding, development and well-being of individuals, society and the environment.

Victoria University’s vision is to be a world-leading capital city university and one of the great global-civic universities.

The University of Waikato’s mission is to develop graduates with intellectual independence and deliver research and teaching that are interdependent.

Scroll to Top